After 5 months of kind-of-sort-of planning, applying for and receiving our visas, booking flights, arranging banking, choosing insurance, and researching hostels, the big day has finally arrived – – I have successfully figured out how to pack my travel pack! I think…
Going into this whole thing I figured the most difficult part was going to be getting Cam to answer my texts in under three days. Just kidding, I was worried about flights mostly.

But seriously, Cam…

Anyway, after my packing experience, of being forced into such decisions as: extra t-shirt or two extra boxers, and, “do I really need a sweat shirt? I mean, it might get chilly. What if there’s a sudden climate shift and I have to walk the icey Australian tundra in nothing but my bathing suit and a light rain jacket? Well that won’t do. Now which one should I bring…”

Stressful choices, right?

And having to put the rejected items back in their drawers? That must be what it feels like to coach hockey. “Sorry kid, better luck next year”. Or something.

Despite these delightful internal debates, I somehow got everything I needed packed. I’ve got my passport and boarding pass ready, Lord of the Rings extended editions loaded up on my phone, and a brand new travel Australia guide (did I mention we’ve done minimal planning?). I’d say I’m ready to take on this 20 hour flight. Hopefully. Whether I’m ready to survive 6 months in the country that inspired “Wolf Creek”, and is home to pretty much all the man mangling wildlife in the world, is an entirely different discussion. One I’m ignoring.

I’ll catch you all on the flip side.

image

Posted from WordPress for Android

