After arriving in Sydney last Saturday Cam and I spent the next seven days there.

Here are some of my observations:

Firstly, Sydney is a beautiful city.

image

Seriously, Toronto, figure it out bud.

image

But despite it’s beauty, Sydney has a dark, awful side. Two words for you: pee troughs. Wut.

*no picture because… come on, what’s wrong with you?

I shit you not (sorry). Despite being a world class city, if you use a toilet at the harbourfront, in a bar, or wherever, you will get the live Free Willy experience every time you enter the restroom.

Point number 2 (lol)
I don’t know if it is just me, but I had always assumed that the toilets in Australia would flush in the opposite direction to the one back home. Wasn’t there a Simpsons episode about that? Anyway, I have been disappointed to notice that this is not the case at all. Life is a lie.

Okay, enough with the toilet humour. Here are some other things I’ve noticed in my first days:

After about an hour of Cam and I awkward crab – dancing around people on the sidewalk to avoid being walked into, we clued into the fact that people walk on the opposite side of the sidewalk. We then realized that none of the other tourists picked up on this so walking down the sidewalk very quickly degraded into something resembling Red Rover. My hockey skills have come in handy. Bah, tourists.

Speaking of walking on the wrong side, you know what’s more dangerous than jay-walking in Toronto? Doing it in Australia. A) they drive on the left side of the road B) roundabouts *shudder*

Beer is expensive here. Like, $16 for a six pack of Corona expensive. Shenanigans. What kind of sad world have we entered? There is, however, a delightful beer substitute called Goon, which is basically cheap boxed wine. Doesn’t taste too bad going down, but Cam will have to let you know how it is coming back up.

The first time I broke a $20 I had to laugh. Australian coins are so insanely large, you’d think they were designed as an object of last resort self defense against the numerous deadly creatures around here. I’m pretty sure you could deflect tank rounds with some of these suckers.

image

Anti-shark 50 cent coin?

Our first day in town we went on a free tour of Sydney ‘s downtown and the harbourfront. Free tours have got to be the best idea I’ve heard of, aside from free drinks of course. There were a couple young German women on the tour with us that Cam proceeded to chat up in his own Cam – ly way. Next thing you know we’re grabbing dinner with them in one of the many parks in downtown Sydney. We discovered that apparently German slang for cell phones is “handy”. That was an awkward moment.

The next day we went to Bondi Beach with one of the Germans and her three friends. I’m not even kidding. Cam. What a beauty. Anyway, pretty decent first couple of days in the land down under.

image

Next post: hostel living, leaving Sydney, and some interesting people we’ve met.

Posted from WordPress for Android

